Concerto for Orchestra

For large orchestra
4-4-5-3, 4-2-2-1, 2 perc, str
Equinox Music
Score Format
11 x 14 portrait
Number of Pages

Liner Notes

BRUCE HOBSON - Concerto for Orchestra

The Concerto for Orchestra was completed in 1969 when I was concerned with the generation of large musical structures from the interval content of the opening material. In the first movement this is achieved through a modified sonata form. In the second and third movements there is a shift of emphasis from the horizontal melodic interval content to the vertical harmonic content. At the same time the driving, forward-moving counterpoint of the first movement is transformed into the static, coloristic harmony and frequent meter changes of the third movement. While the chromatic scale is an important resource in forming the melodic style of this work, the overtone series is the guiding principle in constructing its harmonies.

Buying Options

  • Printed Score, 11 x 14, 76 pgs
  • Study Score, 8.5 x 11, 76 pgs
  • Digital Score (PDF), 8.5 x 11, 76 pgs
  • Audio Download, Slovak Radio Orchestra of Bratislava, Szymon Kawalla, conductor
*Parts for orchestral works are available by request. Please get in touch for more information.


Bruce Hobson: Concerto for Orchestra, Part I